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WHO CAN CONQUER THE RICHEST PROVINCES?
for 2-4 players aged 12 and up

-
Overview
Alexander moves with army his back and forth across the Persian Naturally, each general tries to acquire the most productive lands for
Empire, conquering the land as he passes. To bring peace to these himself. With more productive lands, the general can levy higher
newly conquered lands and to reward his generals, he gives them taxes, show his worth to Alexander, and win the game!

control of the new lands. The generals establish administration over
the lands and levy taxes on the people living there.

Contents

1 Alexander figure 55 cards, 11 each with the 5 symbals
and colors used on the board:

temple - administration, amphora -
nourishment, horse - transport,
lyre - culture, soldier - security

16 guard figures, the
troops of Alexander’s army,
in 4 different colors

.. J. 4 scoring discs in the 4 player colors 65 black boundary walls and 10 red boundary walls

1 game board, separated in triangular spaces, most in
open (light brown) with no symbols, the rest in 5 different

colors with 5 different symbols. . Preparation |

I Card supply and discard stack
- SR G F @ DR T Amr W e e O Each player chooses a color and takes the 4 guards and scoring disc
- —\ —— | in that color. Each places his scoring disc at the beginning of the
scoring track.

Place the Alexander figure on the starting space in the upper left of
the board.

Separate the black and red boundary walls and place them next to the
board.

Shuffle the cards and deal one face down to each player. Place two
cards face-up next to the bottom of the board.

Place the remaining cards face down next to the hoard as a card
supply.

The players choose a starting player using any method they prefer.

2 face-up cards Scoring track



The p[ayers take turns in clockwise order, startmg with the starting
player. On his turn, a player must first move Alexander and then takes
2 further actions.

The move of Alexander is the basis for a player's success or failure in
this game. Thus, it is critical that the players understand fully all the
possibilities of Alexander’s move.

1. Moving Alexander

On a player's turn, he first chooses 1 of the 2 face-up cards (which
could be identical) and moves Alexander to the closest empty
triangular space with a symbol matching that of the card
chosen. This means:

- closest: the shortest distance between the point of the
triangle where Alexander now stands to the closest point of
the triangular space where Alexander could be moved.

- empty: empty: a space is empty when it has no boundary
walls on any of its sides, no guard standing in it, nor
Alexander standing on one of its points. A point of an empty
space can be touching a boundary wall.

When moving Alexander, a player tries to reach different goals
considering the situation at that very moment; many times he
simply moves Alexandros in the direction he prefers, but sometimes
he encloses a productive province that he can occupy (now or later)
or he reduces the size of an opponent’s province.

Figure 1: Alexander stands on the starting space and the 2 face-up cards show a
horse and a lyre. Thus, the player can move
Alexander to the closest empty space
showing a lyre or a horse. The red-bordered
spaces are the 2 spaces where the player may
move Alexander, depending on which card he
chooses. The player may not (if the player
chose the horse card) move
———__Alexander to the lower right horse
F & |space as it is further (3 triangle
» sides vs. 2 triangle sides) from
Alexander’s current position.

The player adds the chosen card
to his hand and draws another
card from the supply as the new
face-up card. If there are several
d . empty spaces showing the symbol
matchmg that of the card chosen that are the same distance from
Alexander, the player may choose which among them to move

formed with 4 spaces, 2 with and 2 without

Alexander to. Then the player moves Alexander to any one of the three
points of the triangular space he chose. The player need not choose a
point closest to Alexander, but may choose any of the three points of
the chosen triangle.

Next, the player places black boundary walls on the triangle sides
between Alexander’s previous position and his new position. The
shortest path must be followed. If there are several shortest paths,
the player may choose freely among them.

Figure 2: the player chose the lyre card, added it to his
hand, and drew another card to replace it. Then, he must
move Alexander to any point of the empty lyre space shown.
Let’s say he chooses the eastern-most point in that space;
next he places 2 boundary walls between Alexander’s previous
position and his new one: it's the only way to do that,
because any other path would require 3 steps instead of 2.

Figure 3: the situation is the same as in the previous
example, but the player moves Alexander to the
southern-most point
in that space. Next,
he places 3 black
boundary walls
between Alexander’s
previous position and
his new one. Note, that in this
case a small province has been

symbols. This is not the only shortest way to
make the connection. It is also possible, for
example, to follow the coastline.

Provided the shortest path rule is respected, a
player may choose any kind of path, even a
path along the coast (or the edge of the
playing area where there is no coast) or a path that
already includes boundary walls. If he does, he places

boundary walls also along the edges, but he does not place a second
boundary wall in a space where one already exists.



Figure 4: The player takes
the soldier card. He can
choose between 9 different
points because there are
three soldier spaces at the
same distance away: that
is two edges to the nearest
points,

He decides to move to

the point indicated as
shown in figure 5. He

Qv' now has 3 different ways

& to place the boundary walls;
he decides, as shown in
the figure, to cut TR e L
the biggest possible
province. The
alternative paths
are shown with the
dotted lines. Note Py
that both paths P,
would have passed |~
over a previous
placed boundary
wall. In this case
only the remaining
two boundary walls
would have been placed.

|

9
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Players may place boundary walls that cross each other and
also inside closed provinces. As you will see, that's a very important
point, because you may decide to divide an opponent’s province.

The figure 6 shows another possible movement. Here, the player has
e ——— ——— decided to go to another

of the 9 possible points
(fig.4). In this particular
case, the player simply
moves Alexander following
the existing path and,
therefore without placing
new boundary walls. The

dotted line shows the

only other alternative

path (as you can see,
it runs inside the closed
province).

Players only place black boundary walls during normal turns. The red
boundary walls are used for Alexander’s last move in the game (see
game end helow).

Alexander’s special move

It can happen that neither face-up card offers a symbol that will give
the player a good Alexander move or that the moves offered gives the
player's opponents hetter opportunities than they give the player.

It can often happen that the player sees a good Alexander move, hut
the required symbol is not on one of the face-up cards.

In such a case, the player may play a card from his hand and move
Alexander to the next empty space showing that symbol.

By doing this, the player loses 2 cards: the one he plays and the one
face-up card he does not take.

Due to this cost, a player cannot afford to do this often.

2. Further actions

After moving Alexander, a player may take 2 further actions in any
combination or order. These can be any 2 of the following 4 actions.
Also, a player may choose to do the same action twice, except for levy
taxes, which a player may only do once in a turn.

- take a card

- occupy an empty province or take over an opponent’s province
- levy taxes

- take back a guard

- Take a card

This is the simplest and most common action. The player takes the
top-most card from the card supply or one of the two face-up cards.
He adds it to his hand, which he keeps secret from the other players.
If the player chooses to take a card as his first action and wants to
take another card as his second action, he may only choose between
the card supply and the remaining face-up card(s). He does not draw a
second face-up card to replace one he took until the end of his turn.
Then he replaces any face-up cards he took. When the card supply is
exhausted, shuffle the discard stack and place it face down as the new
card supply.

- Occupy province

A province is a connected group of triangular spaces (with or without
symbols) that are enclosed by boundary walls and the coast (or the




edge of the playing area where there is no coast). Provinces
may be of any size, large or small. A newly created province
need not be immediately (or ever) occupied and could be later
occupied by any player during his own turn.

A province should have (but need not) at least one symbol
space. Otherwise, it is worthless, as it cannot be occupied. It
is possible to create a province that is just a single symbol
space. For such a province, the tax levy will be zero and it

is unlikely that such a province will be useful.

Profit: the value of a province is determined by the
number of open (non-symbol) spaces in the province.
Each is worth 1 point when levying taxes. A large
province is, naturally, worth more, but is also harder
to occupy because more symbol it has more cards
and pieces are necessary.

When a player moves Alexander, he should do so to try to create
provinces with high open to symbol space ratios, so he can then
occupy them. The more open spaces, the more valuable a province is
and the fewer symbol spaces, the less it costs to occupy. Of course,
more valuable provinces will be ripe for takeovers from avaricious
opponents.

Occupy an empty province:

The players try to occupy provinces so they can use them to levy
taxes and earn the points needed to win the game.

To occupy an unoccupied province (one not occupied by any player), a
player must place at least one of his guards on any one of the symbol
spaces in the province. For each other symbol space in the province,
the player must pay (place face-up on the discard stack) a card from
his hand matching the symbol on the space.

If a player does not have the cards required to occupy a province (or
does not want to use the cards he has), he may use additional guards
in place of the missing cards. In fact, he may use as many of his
guards as he wants (and has left) to occupy a province. He places
each guard on a symhol space in the province and then pays cards (as
above) for any remaining symbol spaces (if any) in the province. Such
a move should be reserved for special cases, as when a player has a
chance to occupy a very valuable province, but is missing a required
card. Without guards, a player will be unable to occupy further
provinces, Also, a player cannot levy taxes or score points for a
province with more than one guard.

Figure 7: red occupies a large
province with 6 symbol spaces
and 10 open spaces by placing
two guards n the province (on
a temple space and a horse
space) and playing 4 cards
matching the other symbol
spaces in the province:
amphora, lyre, temple, and
soldier. If he had a horse card
or another temple card, he
could have used one of these
cards instead of the extra guard.

A province may be divided when moving Alexander.

In figure 8, yellow has just conqguered an huge

province, worth 11 points, hoping to keep it until next
turn when he is plans to levy taxes, but the other players

may try to divide this province by moving Alexander inside it.

For example, on red's turn, the player may decide to move Alexander

toward one of the 5 red-bordered spaces in figure 10 (that means 14

different points).




| He decides to

— annoy yellow and

" moves to the
soldier in the

" north, on the most
northern point
(figure 9).

1

/ In this way, the

_ large yellow

| province is divided
into 2 smaller
provinces: the
eastern one is still
dominated by
 yellow, but it's only

- worth 3 points,

. and the other is

¥ free (the player
may conguer it in
/ the further actions
of his tumn).

Considering one of the face-up cards shows a soldier, yellow could put
his guard aver the soldier space instead over the horse (figure 10). In
this case, in fact, the soldier space would not have been free and

Alexander could

not have been

moved inside the |

province.

Red could have | -
LI 3 £

only divided the - ;”,_.

province with the § />
Alexander special /
move: that is,

playing a horse
card, but in this

‘ )

case, the effect
of the division

would be much
less damaging.

Take over an occupied province:

When a player takes over an occupied province, he not only increases
his points, but reduces those of an opponent. Thus, it is more difficult
to take over a province than to simply occupy an unoccupied one.
To take over a province a player must first remove all guards in the
occupied province. He does this by playing 2 cards to remove each
guard. Both cards must match the symbol of the space where the
guard stands. After the player removes all the guards in the province
(returning them to his opponent), he then plays his own guard(s) and
cards as described above for occupying an empty province. Both the
removing of guards and the occupying of the now-unoccupied province
must be done in the same turn. Otherwise, the player may not take
over an occupied province. This counts as one action.

take-over
Figure 11: yellow takes-over
this province from red. He
plays 2 temple cards and 2
horse cards to remove the 2
red guards in the province.
Then, he places 1 yellow guard on
a lyre space and plays cards
matching the other symbol spaces
in the province: 2 temple cards,
horse card, soldier card, and
amphora card.

The player losing the province gets
his guards back and half (rounded
up) of the cards the take-over
player played to remove the guards
and occupy the province. The player
taking-over the province chooses
which cards to give to the losing
player. The player discards the other
cards used in the take-over.
Exception: when playing with two, the player losing the province only
gets his guards hack; all the used cards are discarded.

occupy

- Levy taxes

To levy taxes, a player must play 1 card matching the symbol on the
space on which his guard stands in one of the provinces he occupies.
A player may only count taxes in a province he occupies and only if
he has just 1 guard in the province. A player may not count taxes in a
province with 2 or more guards. After the player plays (discards) the
necessary card, he counts the open spaces in all his provinces with
only 1 guard. He scores the total of these open spaces and records
this by moving his scoring disc forward on the scoring track.



Important: the levy of taxes affects all players. Thus, after the player
who chose to levy taxes as an action scores his points, each other
player, in clockwise order, scores his tax points by counting the
number of open spaces in all his provinces with only 1 guard and
moving his scoring disc accordingly. These other players do not play
cards to score their tax points. Levy taxes is not always a wise action:
it costs the player a card, an action, and his opponents score points.
Only when the player will score more points than his opponents does
levy taxes make sense. A player may only levy taxes once in his turn.

Figure 12: red chooses to
levy taxes and plays 1 soldier
card as he has a guard in a
province he occupies standing
on a space with a soldier
symbol (province 3). Red
earns 8 points for the province
in Eqypt (1) and 4 points for |
the province in Syria (2), a
total of 12 points. Red's
province in the north (3) with
8 points does not score as red
has 2 guards there. Similarly,
yellow scores 4 points for his
province (4), blue scores 9
points (for 6), and green
scores 6 points (for 5).

- Take back a guard

A player may remove one of his guards from a province he occupies at
any time. He may want to do so because he has more than 1 guard in
a province or he has no more guards in his supply.

To remove a guard from a province, the player simple removes the
guard. He need not play any card to do so.

The game ends

- when a player, after moving Alexander, finds there are not enough
black boundary walls to place to mark the path - he uses red
boundary walls to complete the move, or

- when one or more players have earned 100 points or more.

In the first case, the player finishes his two actions and the game
ends. In the second case the game ends immediately. In both cases,
the player with the most points is the winner.

Special situations

It can happen that there are no empty spaces with a symbol that
matches one (or both) face-up cards. In this case, the player may take
the card and use it as a joker, moving Alexander to the space with the
symbol of his choice.

However, a player may not make an Alexander special move using a
card from his hand if there are no empty spaces with that symbol.

If there are not enough red boundary walls to complete the last move,
the player must find another move, which uses fewer boundary walls.
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